Sunshine State Conference Athletics Newsfeed Recent athletics headlines. en-us Happy 4th of July! Our All-American Stories from 2014 - 2015

MELBOURNE, Fla. – From all student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and alumni of the Sunshine State Conference, we hope you have a wonderful Independence Day!

Sunshine State Conference 7/3/2015
CSCAA Tabs 36 SSC Swimmers with Scholar All-America Honors

MELBOURNE, Fla. – Thirty-six Sunshine State Conference swimmers received Scholar All-American honors from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America it was announced on June 25. In all, 283 institutions placed swimmers or divers on All-American lists.

Sunshine State Conference 6/30/2015
All SSC Swim Programs Earn All-America Recognition from CSCAA

MELBOURNE, Fla. – All 13 Sunshine State Conference swim teams have earned spring All-American honors from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America. In all, the CSCAA announced Tuesday, June 30 that 406 institutions from Division’s I, II, and III earned the academic accolade.

Sunshine State Conference 6/30/2015
1024 Student-Athletes Named to 2015 Spring SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll

MELBOURNE, Fla. – For the first time in Sunshine State Conference history Spring Commissioner’s Honor Roll numbers cross the millennium mark. In all, 1,024 student-athletes were named to the SSC Spring Commissioner’s Honor Roll for 2015, announced Monday, June 29 by Commissioner Ed Pasque. A total of 149 student-athletes carried a perfect 4.00 grade-point average for the semester.

Sunshine State Conference 6/30/2015
Chris Lewis Takes Reins of Rollins College Men's Lacrosse

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Rollins College Director of Athletics Pennie Parker announced Friday that Chris Lewis has been named the head coach of Rollins men’s lacrosse.

Sunshine State Conference 6/29/2015
Florida Southern Names Longtime Assistant Mike Blum as New Head Swimming Coach

LAKELAND, Fla. - Florida Southern College Athletics has announced the promotion of longtime assistant coach Mike Blum to head coach of the Moccasin men's and women's swimming program.

Sunshine State Conference 6/26/2015
Eighteen SSC Golfers Earn GCAA Division II All-American Honors

NORMAN, Okla.– The Golf Coaches Association of America announced the 2015 Division II PING All-America teams on Tuesday, June 23. The Sunshine State Conference had 13 golfers honored across three All-America teams and five were named All-America honorable mention.

Sunshine State Conference 6/23/2015
Huddleston Named Head Women's Basketball Coach at Lynn University

BOCA RATON, Fla. – Lynn University Director of Athletics Devin Crosby has hit the ground running in his opening week on the job with his first major announcement of Julia Huddleston as the new head women's basketball coach. Huddleston becomes the seventh women's basketball head coach in school history and inherits a program which has qualified for the NCAA Tournament in two of the last five seasons.

Sunshine State Conference 6/23/2015
NSU's Nancy Olson Voted as SSC's Candidate for NCAA Faculty Mentor Award

MELBOURNE, Fla. – Nancy Olson of Nova Southeastern University has been selected as the Sunshine State Conference’s candidate for the NCAA Division II 2015 Dr. Dave Pariser Faculty Mentor Award. Olson is a Faculty Member in the H. Wayne Huizenga College of Business & Entrepreneurship, a member of NSU’s Athletic Advisory Council, and apart of the university's Hall of Fame Committee.

Sunshine State Conference 6/22/2015
Sunshine State Conference Collects Division II Best Seven National Titles in 2014-15

MELBOURNE, Fla. - The past year will go down in the record books for the Sunshine State Conference as seven teams brought home national championship trophies in 2014-15. It marks the first time in conference history that seven national championships have been won in a single academic year, besting the previous high of six titles.

Sunshine State Conference 6/20/2015